Must The Party End?

I know Halloween was over, but that doesn’t mean the fun here has to end, right? I say let’s keep it going…at least for a little while.

I know a lot of us are on Yahoo loops or blogs where the question What Are You Reading Now is asked often. At least I am. And it’s a fun question. I find a great deal of new authors through those conversations, but how about a new (or newer) question. Do your reading tastes change from time to time? Do you go in spurts where you read one genre and then switch to another? Are you consistently wide ranged?

Personally, I seem to jump around, and most recently I’m even jumping formats because it’s what is working best for my schedule. To keep up with what the oldest kid, I call her Chaos, is reading I have been chekcing out the audio books from the library. I am still a little behind her, but I am currently listening to the third Percy Jackson book on audio. I also recently listened to a Joseph Finder thriller on audiobook. It’s a great way to pass the time on a road trip, especially when it’s an engaging story.

As if audiobooks aren’t enough, and let’s face it they aren’t, I have a few paperbacks on my nightstand and then there is the eReader I have loaded with lots of great choices. My current read on the eReader is a Harlequin Romantic Suspense by Vicki Taylor. I just need more time to read in quiet to get through the last of it and move on to the next one.

And then there are the books I read to the youngest kiddo, we call her Destruction. She has most recently really gotten into the Magic Tree House books and we are reading a Merlin adventure one. Unlike the other books she often asks me to read (you know the ones you’ve read over and over and over and over until you have nightmares about reading them) I look forward to reading to her each night. I want to know what happens next in the story. LOL

What about you? What are your reading habits? How do you make time for all those stories you read? How diverse is your list? Or how select?

Commenters will be entered into a drawing for a their choice of either SOUNDS TO DIE BY or SCENT OF PERSUASION. (Both books are contemporary romantic suspense and are sexy reads. They are part of a series, but can be read as stand alones. 🙂 ) The deadline for commenting…let’s say Saturday at noon central time. That should give everyone plenty of time to come up with something to say, right? Oh, and if you’re on Twitter or Facebook, share this post (and tell me you did it) and be entered a second time for the drawing.

Nikki Duncan

34 Responses to “Must The Party End?”

  1. Mari Cullars Says:

    Your kids sound cute. They remind me of neices. I love paranormal romances it’s currently my must read genre ( I rarely stray from it), but my first love was victorian romances. Although I read paranormal romances almost excusively, I sometimes get a yen to read victoria novel. I recently read Madeline Hunters Provocative in Pearls and it reminded me how much I love this genre. So, I will be mixing it in more now. I ‘m planning to read the rest of this series and read Amanda Quick books from beginning to end ( I’m a huge Jayne Castle fan of course). Plus I read one of Sandra Hills viking books and loved it , so I need to work them in too. I love to read at the end of the night before bed. Sometimes I don’t actually get to bed lol but I don’t mind at all. I mostly read ebooks, but I hadn’t thought about checking the library for audiobooks. Sometimes on my job I spend 8 hours driving around and this would be the perfect to listen to a book on cd. I’m definitely going to check that out. I do alot of reading at work because I work overnight and its very quiet (thank goodness).

    • Nikki Duncan Says:

      My kids are crazy, and I love them for it. LOL

      I wouldn’t get anywhere near as much reading done without the audiobooks. It’s a habit I’m going to have to keep up.

  2. Lisa J Says:

    Now that I have an e-reader and don’t have to worry about not having a book with me, I read everywhere. I can pull it ooks to read. It’s great!

    My reading choice is always romance, in whatever form appeals at the moment. I’m on a science fiction romance hunt right now, but I also love shifters, vampires, romantic suspense, contemporary, etc. If it has a happily ever after, I’ll read it.

  3. mirandabaker Says:

    Hi, Nikki!
    My in-the-process-of reading pile is kicking my butt this month because I’m teaching full time. Currently I have 2 research books “An Italian Education” by Tim Parks and “SM 101” by Jay Wiseman, a literary read “Unaccustomed Earth” by Jhumpa Lahiri, a JD Robb “Reunion in Death” and I just bought two new releases from Samhain authors on Tuesday. I won’t tell you which ones I bought, but I will tell you I already finished reading one of the Samhain books. I’m still in the middle of all of the rest of them. Like you, I need more time to read!

  4. Jackie B Central Texas Says:

    I read as much as possible when can catch a few minutes or hours a day… My books normally tend toward Paranormal Romance/Dark Urban Fantasy and Mystery Thriller/Romances but also love to pick up a YA/Contemporary/Historical/Sci-Fi Romance for a lighter change of pace….

    I have tweeted the contest link at @jacabur1

    jackie >_<

    jacabur2008(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. Colleen Says:

    I read mostly romance… I love the variety of genres. Depending on my mood, I will switch from one to another. Recently I have been on a Historical kick… maybe paranormal will be up next or contemporary… I go with what feels right at the time I pick up a book from my TBR pile…
    I try to read a book a day, but sometimes I just do not feel up to it… prefer to read over watching tv. I squeeze in some reading time throughout the day, but get to it mostly at night.
    Happy November!
    Thanks for the chance to win! 😀

  6. Nikki Says:

    I read all the time. I am a stay at home Mom with three little youngsters so it’s kind of like my getaway. I’m a sucker for the romance. All romance, nothing else. I vary between paranormal or historical. It all depends on if I feel like being swept off my feet at a masquerade or being thrown out of the line of danger by a sexy vampire, you never know. My kids are too young to read but they never hesitate to ask me what I’m reading. Hopefully they’ll pick up my habits over the TV. We’ll see!

  7. Tracey D Says:

    Much like Colleen, it depends on my mood on what I read, because I love a variety of genre, too. Right now, I’m reading an m/m romantic supsense, book 3 of a series, and it’s great.

    In the fall and winter, I snuggle into bed around 7 with my book and read for a couple of hours. I’d rather read than watch TV!

    Thanks!

  8. Lisa J Says:

    I only read romance, almost any genre within the romance category works for me. I have been on a sci fi/romance kick the past few months. Still, I love shifters, vamps, contemporaries, suspense, too. As long as there is a “happy ever after” I’m good to go.

    Now that I have my e-reader it’s so easy to read anywhere. I love having all of my books at my fingertips whenever I want them. Technology can be a great thing.

  9. Jackie Says:

    I will honestly read anything that looks interesting. I’ve been reading a lot of paranormal romance, but can easily switch to a political thriller. As far as formats I read mostly on my Nook, but if I just can’t wait for the book to come out as an ebook I will buy the hardcover or paperback. There are just some authors I can’t wait for. 🙂 I’ve never been able to get into audiobooks they tend to make me very sleepy. Reading is an addiction for me and I love it. 🙂

  10. Nicole s Says:

    I read mostly romance, but I like variety. I read contemporary, historical, inspirational, paranormal, some suspense, sexy stories, and sweet ones. Just depends what mood I’m in and what books calls to me to be read.

    • Nikki Duncan Says:

      Mood makes a big difference. If I try reading something I think I should love but find myself hating it, I’ll set it aside and come back. Often times that makes the difference.

  11. Yadira A. Says:

    I really try to make my list as diverse as possible, but there are times where I want more shifters… or vampires… or cowboys… or something else, but always with some romance:) I really need to try harder to make more time for my reading though because it seems my TBR pile is growing 10x faster than what I can read, but the day job ususally gets in the way and so I’m left with mostly weekends.

    yadkny@hotmail.com

  12. Nikki Duncan Says:

    Oh, Colleen, I know all about reading at night. It’s the only time I get to do that. Well, except recently because doctor office waiting rooms are great reading places. 🙂

  13. Lisa J Says:

    My preference is romance, in any form. I love a happily ever after.

    I have been on a sci fi romance kick for the last couple of months, but I still love me some shifters, vamps, contemporary, etc.

    Now that I have an e-reader I can take my books with me everywhere. I love having all my books at my fingertips. It’s great when you are standing in line or in traffic.

  14. Jackie B Central Texas Says:

    My comment is still in moderation and just wondering if it went to spam folder because of the Tweet link?

    • Nikki Duncan Says:

      Nope, I was just slow getting in there to approve them. Sorry. 🙂

      I will be better. And in case I missed the question I thought I saw… I’ll announce the winner probably later tomorrow afternoon – I’m working a band event at the kid’s school tomorrow until 4:30.

  15. Valerie Says:

    Romance is the bulk of my reading. Paranormals are my favourite, but I do love a great romantic suspense, historicals and I have enjoyed a few westerns and contemporaries.

    Valerie
    in Germany
    valb0302@yahoo.com

  16. april strength Says:

    i’d have to say i read everyday and it can be up to a book a day mostly at lunch and waiting in lines and at home at night but i’m not much on tv so that leaves plenty of reading time (no kids) and my favorite genre is erotica in any sub-genre have a great day oh and when is the kindle winner chosen?

    • Nikki Duncan Says:

      Oh, April I remember those day when I could read that much. Sadly they have left me far behind. lol

      I believe the Kindle winner from the spook-a-palooza has already been announced. I will announce the winner of this blog momentarily – I got caught up this weekend and didn’t get to the computer.

  17. Nikki Duncan Says:

    The winner is: Lisa J!

    Lisa, email me at nikki@nikkiduncan.com to claim your prize. Just let me know which book you prefer and I will get it to you.

    Thank you for commenting everyone. I love hearing about everyone’s reading habits.

  18. Chasity Says:

    I can’t find the kindle winner posted anywhere on here and I’ve been checking everyday since the end of the contest.

  19. Chasity Says:

    thanks


Comments are closed.

